All Things Green Man & The Traditional Jack-in-the-Green

Update and apologies

My apologies for the lack of event updates this year but after three years of stubbornly and bravely refusing to let a stroke keep him down my Dad David finally passed away peacefully in the early hours of April 6th. I was very fortunate to be able to take some time off to go over to Kent and to be able to be by his hospital bed chatting away to him right up to the night before he passed away.

With my wonderful Wife’s support I was able to organise the funeral that he himself requested and was honoured to take him to his final resting place with my Niece Anna last Wednesday at Eden Valley Natural Burial Ground in Kent where my Wife Sally also did him proud acting as a wonderful celebrant.

He was buried in a lovely hand made willow coffin surrounded by friends and family and over the years will become part of a beautiful deciduous woodland – I think the Green Man would approve.

My thanks to everyone who has sent messages of condolence and support.



6 responses

  1. May your father be received by his ancestors. I think what you did for him is wonderful and I hope those who survive me do something similar with my remains

    Apr 23, 2023 at 1:53 pm

  2. John Armstrong

    The picture is beautiful and it sounds like a wonderful send off ;0)

    Apr 23, 2023 at 2:12 pm

  3. Barry OBrien

    sincere condolences from all at Dover Hoodeners and Im sure you;re right.   Barry Dover Tales

    Apr 25, 2023 at 12:14 pm

  4. dscanlan

    I’m so sorry for your loss. What a beautiful and fitting send off.

    Apr 29, 2023 at 7:29 pm

  5. Kath Halkyard

    Thank you so much for sharing this very personal and special time. . I hope your wonderful understanding of the natural cycle of life will be a comfort through your grieving times..
    Kath.

    May 1, 2023 at 2:16 pm

  6. Kate

    May your dad sleep the sweetest of sleeps, until it’s time to return again.

    May 1, 2023 at 5:52 pm

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.