All things Green Man & the traditional Jack-in-the-Green

The Wildwood Tarot

Green Man copyright © Will Worthington

Many of our members will have come across Will Worthington’s fabulous art over the years. Will is the creator of a number of beautifully illustrated Oracles and Tarots including the Druid Animal Oracle and the Green Man Tree Oracle. In collaboration with Mark Ryan and John Mathews he has created The Wildwood Tarot a re-working of the Greenwood Tarot originally created by Mark Ryan and Chesca Potter. The Green Man has been a powerful symbol throughout Wills career and The Green Man, Green Women (both pictured on this page) and other associated archetypes come to life in this wonderfully crafted set of seventy eight cards.

I have added a link to The Wildwood Tarot on amazon.co.uk in our bookshop on the main website: www.thecompanyofthegreenman.co.uk.

You can find out more about Will, his artwork and his music at http://www.willworthingtonart.co.uk and keep an eye out for some of the originals coming up for sale soon.

A full review of The Wildwood Tarot will appear in our next e-newsletter

Green Woman copyright © Will Worthington

The pictures on this posting are copyright © Will Worthington and are reproduced with his kind permission

10 responses

  1. the artwork is beautifully done-it captures the essence of nature and it’s colours.marvelous!

    June 18, 2011 at 2:00 pm

  2. woley

    I just ordered this deck, and have always liked Will’s artwork, including that from the Green Man Oracle.

    June 30, 2011 at 5:19 pm

  3. It’s a wonderful deck and Will’s artwork is outstanding. Please do let us know what you think, maybe you would like to write a review for our e-newsletter?

    June 30, 2011 at 5:52 pm

  4. Hi there – would you be able to add in to your review that there is a new wildwood tarot website just launched? It’s at http://www.thewildwoodtarot.com

    Many thanks!

    August 16, 2011 at 12:17 pm

  5. mark

    I have just received this pack via amazon and confess I was very disappointed. The print quakity is terrible. I am returning it to amazon for a refund, the backs were scratched and spotted, really disappopinted. I have worked with various packs over the last 20 years, Arthurian Tarot and Druid tarot being two that are really good. I have huge respect for both the authurs for myriad reasons but the quality of this pack was shoddy. Perhaps, I was unlucky, I have contacted connections-publishing, who printed the set I received, but had no reply. Are there other publishers printing this set. Everyone seems to like it, I was appalled with the quality.

    September 28, 2011 at 11:39 am

  6. Anyone else have any quality issues? mine are not on as high quality card I would have liked and I must admit I’d rather pay more for a set that will wear in and not wear out!

    September 28, 2011 at 10:38 pm

  7. Mine are fine, no problems with shuffling or bad printing on the front or backs or cardstock. My deck and book set was printed by Sterling Ethos an imprint of Sterling Publishing in New York. ISBN 9781402781063

    Is this perhaps an issue between the card deck printed by itself versus the set? I seem to have a different publisher.

    September 28, 2011 at 10:56 pm

  8. mark

    That is an intersting point, woley. As stated my set were published via connection-publishing, printed in China, I think, and quality left a lot to be desired. To be honest, it has put me off buying a set now, feel the energy is wrong. Amazon also stated that the book was hardback, which is incorrect. I am now curious to know how many publishers are printing these. Did you buy your set tin the U.S, maybe the U.S publisher is doing a better job?

    October 30, 2011 at 11:55 am

  9. I bought mine from amazon.ca (Canada) but the Sterling edition is printed in China like yours.

    Perhaps it’s a matter of different printers in China and quality control? You get good printers and bad printers all over the world.

    Let me check amazon.com using ISBN 9781402781063…..yes, they have my Sterling edition in stock at Amazon in the States for $13.57 USD. They also have it at amazon.ca for $17.29 CAD.

    Interestingly, I notice they have your set from Connections Publishing listed for $41.12 and Temporarily out of stock.

    I would take a chance and buy the set for $13.57. I am quite happy with mine. You can’t lose at that price.

    October 30, 2011 at 3:46 pm

  10. Reblogged this on The Darkness in the Light.

    March 12, 2012 at 2:46 am

Leave a Reply

