All things Green Man & the traditional Jack-in-the-Green

Jack in the Green

Had to re-produce this at some point as I’m aware that there are some generations out there who sadly may not have heard of Jethro Tull (I can proudly say I once saw them play live, I was of course very young!)

These are the lyrics to their wonderful Jack in the Green, from the album Songs from the Wood. If you would like to hear how it sounds there’s a link to it on our You Tube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/cotgm

Jack in the Green

Have you seen Jack-In-The-Green?
With his long tail hanging down.
He quietly sits under every tree
in the folds of his velvet gown.

He drinks from the empty acorn cup
the dew that dawn sweetly bestows.
And taps his cane upon the ground
signals the snowdrops it’s time to grow.

It’s no fun being Jack-In-The-Green
no place to dance, no time for song.
He wears the colours of the summer soldier
carries the green flag all the winter long.

Jack, do you never sleep
does the green still run deep in your heart?
Or will these changing times,
motorways, powerlines,
keep us apart?
Well, I don’t think so
I saw some grass growing through the pavements today.

The rowan, the oak and the holly tree
are the charges left for you to groom.
Each blade of grass whispers Jack-In-The-Green.
Oh Jack, please help me through my winter’s night.
And we are the berries on the holly tree.
Oh, the mistlethrush is coming.
Jack, put out the light.

3 responses

  1. martyn meacham

    JETHRO TULL IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE BANDS,BUT IT IS TO MY SORROW THAT I’VE NEVER SEEN THEM LIVE.

    November 5, 2010 at 9:19 am

  2. Richard Trelfa

    jethro Tull are still alive and goi. I saw them live only last year (for the second time). I’m grateful for this article as I’ve never been able to work out all of the words before now.

    November 28, 2010 at 5:04 pm

  3. I’ve been a dedicated fan of Tull since my mid-teens (and I’m getting on a bit now!! Laugh!!) My first Tull concert was the ‘Under Wraps’ tour at the N.E.C. in Brum and the last was at Wolverhampton Civic Hall a few years ago……

    March 2, 2011 at 8:42 pm

Leave a Reply

