All things Green Man & the traditional Jack-in-the-Green

The Green Man’s Song

At this year’s Fylde Festival COTGM member Sedayne is performing with the Earthbound Souls a show called Demdyke! which explores various aspects of Lancastrian folklore in a sequence of songs penned by local artist & songwriter Ron Baxter and set by the musicians of the Earthbound Souls (Sedayne, Rachel McCarron & Ross Campbell). One of  songs is called The Green man’s Song:

Their God died, nailed to a tree
Why in His temple should I be?
Yet there my image you will see
Carved in wood or stone.
Though He arose, as doth the Spring,
New life unto this world to bring
He’s not me, and I’m not Him
For Him I do not know.

I dwell with the greenwood trees
And when they rustle in the breeze
‘Tis then that folk think they see me,
And perhaps they do.
Through Summer sun, through Winter cold
I’m there with oak, and ash, and thorn.
I’ll never die, ’cause never born,
Forever I’ve been here.

Yet in May some still are found
As the pipe, and tabor sounds
Bedecked in leaves they dance around
Doing homage unto me.
But of their homage I’ve no need
Of their worship I take no heed
Let them believe, what they believe,
It matters not to me.

For I am…..just what I am
Though that you’ll never understand
Jack in the Green, or the Green Man
You may call me what you will.
Though He arose, as doth the Spring,
New life unto this world to bring
He’s not me, and I’m not Him
For Him I do not know.

You can have a listen at:

 http://www.myspace.com/sedayne

3 responses

  1. Duncan Saunders

    Just spent half an hour trying to find The Green Man’s Song on Sedayne’s website…dearly wanted to have a listen to it, but could not find the song
    Do hope an updated link to the song can be provided.

    Thanks

    October 29, 2010 at 4:50 pm

  2. I’ve just popped an e-mail to Sedayne to see if there is an updated link at all. If there is I will get it loaded onto the front of the blog as soon as possible

    Many thanks

    The Company of the Green Man

    October 29, 2010 at 5:15 pm

  3. Updated link as follows:
    http://www.myspace.com/demdyke

    November 7, 2010 at 4:34 pm

Leave a Reply

